Create A Great Future For Yourself Because No One Else Is Going To Do It For You. -NSFW

Salt-lake-city-photography-school-88This last few weeks I’ve had a lot of time to think. I’ve been ill and that means I spend a lot of time resting and recovering. It’s not easy when you run a business and you still have to get up and do work everyday… but I remember before I worked as a photographer. I remember when I worked for a car company.

It was November and it was just starting to snow and I one night I woke up and I felt a chill. The next day I felt terrible. I called in sick. I had to do the same thing for two weeks. I felt terrible and there was no way around it. I tried to go into work one day and they sent me home. They didn’t want the office filled with my coughing.

 

I went back after a few weeks and my boss sat me down and we had a talk. He was a good boss and I still have complete respect for him but what he said that day was frustrating.

I had used all of my sick days and vacation days for the next year and he told me that it was company policy and I couldn’t be sick or take any vacation for the 356 days.

The other thing is I didn’t get a pay check and that put me behind on bills.

Salt-lake-city-photography-school-120

I sit and compare that to know.

July was a tough month. There were a lot of things that happened that I couldn’t control and being sick made them worse.

But! I work for myself. I still had to do a little work on the days I was really sick but now that I am feeling better everyday(hopefully soon I will be fully recovered) I made money.

Salt-lake-city-photography-school-30

The best thing is that I know that I don’t have a set income. All I have to do is boost my marketing and spend more time creating things to sell and soon I will be ahead of where I was.

When I was a kid my father would tell me, “Someday you will get a good job and go to work for a good company and have a 401K and you will feel safe.”

He was right…. for his generation. For my generation and the ones after jobs became the unsafe thing to do.

Most companies don’t believe in loyalty. I had a friend, Doug. He had worked for the same company for over 20 years and he was their highest paid manager. One day for no reason they let him go. He lost his career in one moment. I saw him a while a few months later working at a car parts store. I felt sad for him.

My point for this blog post is that times have changed and having a job is a good thing but my thoughts are “Always have a business.” Maybe it’s a side business. Maybe it’s a full-time business. Maybe you are into multi marketing. It doesn’t matter what it is as long as you enjoy it. Just make sure you are


Hey! Enroll in a Basic Photography Course! I teach em’ I have two starting soon! One on August 23rd and one on August 24th!

ttps://www.facebook.com/Salt-Lake-City-School-of-Photography-1175241769156345/

Ph-801-598-3423- Text me first.

Or Email me at:

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com

Visit my IG to see more of my work and I’m now on Facebook but I only look at it once a week.

13680110_10210884282088453_2567742529745194869_oIkon Republik- I am a professional photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. I run Salt Lake City School of Photography.

 Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

I like to write. I like to play guitar and I love my kids more than anything in the world!

 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

