Emotions and Connection-Pt. 2-NSFW

Yesterday, in my blog post I began writing about why we like some images more than others.

It has to do with connection. We like things that make us feel something. We like things that move us. It’s part of being Human.

I stopped writing because I had a photo session and I needed to get read for it but as promised, here is more.

One way to create dramatic images that make others feel is to use exposure.

An example is the image below. It’s dark. It’s not correctly exposed according to the camera but to me it is correctly exposed.

IMG_3692

Art is not about being correct. Art is about expression.

Your meter in your camera is going to tell you what it thinks and then you have to think for yourself.

The camera wants something different from what you want and it’s your job to override the camera because the camera is the tool and you are the artist.

Next.

The image below I took yesterday with Amanda Dixon. If I followed what the camera wanted me to do here the images would be darker. I wanted it lighter.

Salt-lake-city-photography-school-80

 

Adjusting your exposure is just one way you can add a lot of beautiful drama to your images.

There is an easy way to remember exposure. It’s kinda cool and I can take full credit for it. I had my brother in a class a while back and I was teaching him exposure. The next week I was hanging with him and my nephew and he was teaching Gus about his camera and he said this. Dear God. It blew me away. He made it so simple!

You have two numbers on your camera. One is your Aperture and the other is your shutter speed.

If you want to make your photo darker just make one of those numbers bigger.

Example:Take your shutter speed from 125 to 500.

Another example: Take your Aperture from f/2 to f/5.6.

That will make it darker.

If you want to have a brighter photography just do the opposite. Make the numbers smaller.

Example: Change your Shutter speed from 1000 to 250.

Example: Change your aperture from f/8 to f/4.

 

Salt-lake-city-photography-school-72

 

 

There you go! This is an easy way to dramatically improve your images. I hope you enjoyed this post and if you have questions I’m happy to answer them.

 

Hey! Amanda Dixon is the model for the workshop tomorrow! If you want to enroll message me today. It was formerly the wedding workshop but because I’ve been ill I changed it to a portrait workshop. It’s from 3-9 and $154.


Are you ready to enroll? Basic Photography Course begins soon! I teach em’ I have two starting soon! One on August 23rd and one on August 24th!

https://www.facebook.com/Salt-Lake-City-School-of-Photography-1175241769156345/

Ph-801-598-3423- Text me first.

Or Email me at:

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com

Visit my IG to see more of my work and I’m now on Facebook but I only look at it once a week.

13680110_10210884282088453_2567742529745194869_oIkon Republik- I am a professional photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. I run Salt Lake City School of Photography.

 Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

I like to write. I like to play guitar and I love my kids more than anything in the world!

 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

